Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Fredrik Releases Third Album "FLORA"

Swedish electronic trio Fredrik is celebrating the release of their third album, FLORA, out this week on The Kora RecordsRecorded in their garden studio during the summer of 2010, FLORA is the band's third full length albumfollowing the group's acclaimed sophomore release Trilogi.  The band's beautiful video (above) that spans the entire length of FLORA as now reached over 250,000 hits on YouTubeEdited by Fredrik's O. Lindefelt, the camera lens softly follows a wolf figurine (Ylva) into the woodsy terrain of the band's scenic hometown of Malmö. 

The band is also pleased to make their first foray into the world of remixing with Swedish producer Tobias Lilja (Prefuse 73, Robyn, Jamie Lidell)'s take on their first single "Rites of Spring." According to Lilja"having followed Fredrik since the launch of the band, I felt honored to make a remix. The first time I heard 'Rites of Spring' was when I accidentally overheard a work-in-progress version of the song. I got an internal image of a dusty old steam train that had traveled for hundreds of years in a desert landscape. In my remix I wanted to return to that image and continue the search for this comforting repetitiveness. In the end I mixed looped guitar hooks with train samples from 60's western movies along with the amazing vocal performances from the original mix. There's also some nostalgic references to the French house scene of the 90's and myself doing wolf harmonies and snake hisses."

The band recently made several appearances at SXSW 2011, and will return to the US later this year. 

FLORA Track List

01 Ylva

02 Vattenfront
03 Chrome Cavities
04 Rites of Spring
05 The North Greatern
06 Caleido Kalahari
07 Inventress of Ill (and Everything)
08 Naruto and the End of the Broken Ear
09 The Shape and Colouor of Things Gone Blind
10 I'm Pretty Sure He Said Killdren
11 Axis

No comments:

Post a Comment