Thursday, June 9, 2011

Active Child Announces Release Of Debut Album

Active Child is pleased to announce the release of his debut album You Are All I See on August 23 via Vagrant Records. The album was produced by Ariel Rechtshaid and features 10 new tracks. The album comes as a follow-up to last year's critically-acclaimed Curtis Lane EP.  See below for full track-listing.


One of those tracks, "Playing House," is a collaboration with lo-fi r&b singer How To Dress Well and was recently premiered on Pitchfork. Listen to the song over at Active Child's website,


The Fader praised the song highly, noting "The cascading piano line that introduces this duet is too perfect, spiraling like an Alice in Wonderland techno-trip into fantasy R&B, like spelunking the deep internet without a safety USB cord. Pairing bedroom falsetto connoisseurs Active Child and How to Dress Well, "Playing House" rivals heights of collaborative Auto-warble last seen in Kanye's weird work with Bon Iver. The boys always threaten to take homage over-the-top, but "Playing House" is undeniable magic."


 Active Child is the musical project from choirboy-turned-indie pop musician Pat Grossi. His debut collection of songs featured the skilled use of various 80s-tinged synths to create ethereal, soaring soundscapes, punctuated by crisp electronic drum samples and handclaps. All of this lays the groundwork for Grossi's exquisite vocals, which, with their unearthly sound and evocative lyrics, take on an enchanting, hymnal quality that would not be out of place amongst the richly colored sunlight of a church's stained-glass interior.



You Are All I See Track Listing

1. You Are All I See
2. Hanging On
3. Playing House (ft. How To Dress Well)
4. See Thru Eyes
5. High Priestess
6. Call Me Tonight
7. Way Too Fast
8. Ancient Eye
9. Shield & Sword
10. Johnny Belinda

No comments:

Post a Comment